Vendange tardive ( late vintage ): The basic principles for this wine are selected, physiologically ripe grapes, usually with some botrytis. This fungus destroys the grape’s skin and allows part of the available water content to evaporate, which leads to a natural concentration of the constituents. The grapes can sometimes also assume a raisin like appearance. These wines have a characteristic taste, with notes of honey, dried fruit or caramel.

Vin de paille ( straw wine ): Healthy, ripe grapes must be dried on well aired straw mats for at least two months, which leads to a maximum concentration of sugar and the grape’s constituents.

Vin de glace ( ice wine ): An ice wine vintage is only possible if the grapes are frozen in a natural way and the outdoor temperature drops to at least -7°C. The frozen grapes are pressed, so that only the sugar-containing extract is obtained.

Two different rock formations characterise the wines of Luxembourg’s Moselle Valley.

1. Keuper
In the Canton of Remich, the vines grow mainly on keuper with marl clay. Keuper came into being 159 to 230 million years ago through the silting of a violent sea. The valley is rather wide open from Schengen to Greiveldingen. The rounded and gently slanting slopes produce wines that are as full-bodied and harmonious as the landscape.

2. Muschelkalk
Fissured layers of shell limestone predominate in the Canton of Grevenmacher. Shell limestone developed 205 to 215 million years ago from marine deposits. The slow erosion between Greiveldingen and Grevenmacher brought into being a narrow valley with steep, precipitous, dolomitic slopes, where racy and elegant wines are perfectly at home.

1. Keuper / 2. Muschelkalk

Vendange tardive : Ce vin est obtenu à partir de raisins mûrs sélectionnés, arrivés à maturité physiologique, généralement avec une part de botrytis ( pourriture noble ). Ce champignon détruit la peau du raisin et permet ainsi l’évaporation d’une partie de la teneur en eau, ce qui engendre une concentration naturelle des composants. En outre, les grains peuvent prendre l’aspect de raisins secs. Les vins ont une saveur caractéristique, où les notes de miel, de fruits secs ou de caramel prédominent.

Vin de paille : Des raisins sains et mûrs doivent être séchés au moins pendant deux mois sur « un lit de paille », tout en étant bien aérés, ce qui entraine une concentration maximale du sucre et des composants du raisin.

Vin de glace : La vendange du vin de glace est uniquement possible lorsque les raisins ont gelé de manière naturelle et que la température extérieure a chuté au minimum à -7°C. Les raisins gelés sont pressés directement, de manière à obtenir un moût à haute teneur en sucre.

Les vins nationaux sont caractérisés par deux formations rocheuses distinctes.

1. Keuper
Dans le canton de Remich, les vignes poussent essentiellement sur du Keuper avec des marnes argileuses. Les marnes keupériennes sont nées voilà 195 à 230 millions d’années, suite à l’ensablement d’un océan gigantesque. De Schengen jusqu’à Greiveldingen, la vallée est plutôt ouverte. Les coteaux arrondis et faiblement pentus donnent des vins arrondis et harmonieux, à l’image du paysage.

2. Muschelkalk
Dans le canton de Grevenmacher, des gradins fissurés de roches calcaires prédominent. Le calcaire coquillier a été formé par des sédiments marins il y a 205 – 215 millions d’années. La lente érosion entre Greiveldingen et Grevenmacher a conduit à une vallée plus étroite, avec des versants abrupts dolomitiques, où poussent des vins racés et élégants.

1. Keuper / 2. Muschelkalk