Vendange tardive ( late vintage ): The basic principles for this wine are selected, physiologically ripe grapes, usually with some botrytis. This fungus destroys the grape’s skin and allows part of the available water content to evaporate, which leads to a natural concentration of the constituents. The grapes can sometimes also assume a raisin like appearance. These wines have a characteristic taste, with notes of honey, dried fruit or caramel.

Vin de paille ( straw wine ): Healthy, ripe grapes must be dried on well aired straw mats for at least two months, which leads to a maximum concentration of sugar and the grape’s constituents.

Vin de glace ( ice wine ): An ice wine vintage is only possible if the grapes are frozen in a natural way and the outdoor temperature drops to at least -7°C. The frozen grapes are pressed, so that only the sugar-containing extract is obtained.

Two different rock formations characterise the wines of Luxembourg’s Moselle Valley.

1. Keuper
In the Canton of Remich, the vines grow mainly on keuper with marl clay. Keuper came into being 159 to 230 million years ago through the silting of a violent sea. The valley is rather wide open from Schengen to Greiveldingen. The rounded and gently slanting slopes produce wines that are as full-bodied and harmonious as the landscape.

2. Muschelkalk
Fissured layers of shell limestone predominate in the Canton of Grevenmacher. Shell limestone developed 205 to 215 million years ago from marine deposits. The slow erosion between Greiveldingen and Grevenmacher brought into being a narrow valley with steep, precipitous, dolomitic slopes, where racy and elegant wines are perfectly at home.

1. Keuper / 2. Muschelkalk

Vendange tardive ( Spätlese ): Grundlage für diesen Wein sind ausgelesene, physiologisch reife Trauben, meist mit einem Anteil von Botrytis. Dieser Pilz zerstört die Beerenhaut und lässt einen Teil des vorhandenen Wassergehalts verdunsten, was zu einer natürlichen Konzentration der Inhaltsstoffe führt. Auch können die Beeren eine rosinenartige Optik annehmen. Die Weine haben einen charakteristischen Geschmack, der von Honignoten, getrockneten Früchten oder Karamell geprägt ist.

Vin de paille ( Strohwein ): Mindestens zwei Monate müssen gesunde, reife Trauben gut belüftet auf Strohmatten getrocknet werden, was zu einer maximalen Konzentration des Zuckers und der Traubeninhaltsstoffe führt.

Vin de glace ( Eiswein ): Eine Eisweinlese ist nur möglich, wenn die Trauben auf natürliche Weise gefroren sind und die Außentemperatur auf mindestens -7°C sank. Die gefrorenen Trauben werden gepresst, so dass ausschließlich zuckerhaltiger Extrakt gewonnen wird.

Zwei unterschiedliche Gesteinsformationen prägen die Weine der Luxemburger Mosel.

1. Keuper
Im Kanton Remich wachsen die Reben hauptsächlich auf Keuper mit Tonmergel. Keuper entstand vor 195 bis 230 Millionen Jahren durch die Versandung eines gewaltigen Meeres. Von Schengen bis Greiveldingen ist das Tal ziemlich weit offen. Die abgerundeten und weich abfallenden Hänge ergeben Weine, die voll und harmonisch wie die Landschaft sind.

2. Muschelkalk
Im Kanton Grevenmacher überwiegen klüftige Stufen von Muschelkalk. Muschelkalk entwickelte sich vor 205 bis 215 Millionen Jahren infolge von Meeresablagerungen. Die langsame Erosion zwischen Greiveldingen und Grevenmacher hat ein engeres Tal mit steil abfallenden, dolomitischen Hängen hervorgebracht, auf denen rassige und elegante Weine zu Hause sind.

1. Keuper / 2. Muschelkalk