WINES OF « AOP – MOSELLE LUXEMBOURGEOISE »

LIEU-DIT: terroir wines
What are known as terroir wines stem from the best vineyards in Luxembourg’s Moselle Valley. The individual locations are delimited with precision. Here, the quality of a wine is determined by the terroir, the origin. The vineyard, low yields, selective manual harvest, as well as cultivation in harmony with nature are just some criteria for the outstanding quality of these wines.

COTEAUX DE: typical premium wines
Coteaux wines are typical ( in terms of cultivar and region ), classic wines from Luxembourg’s Moselle Valley. These premium wines stem from top-quality vineyards in the cantons of Grevenmacher or Remich. As such, they represent two different types of soil: shell limestone ( Grevenmacher ), and keuper with marl clay ( Remich ). Manually harvested grapes, low yields and careful processing turn the origin into a taste experience.

CÔTES DE: harmonious entry level wines
Wines with the designation of origin «Côtes de» are high calibre, harmonious entry level wines. Fruity, light wines for uncomplicated, daily enjoyment. The yield limit for all cultivars is maximum 100 hectolitres per hectare, except for Elbling and Rivaner (115 hectolitres per hectare).

CRÉMANT DE LUXEMBOURG
Healthy, aromatic grapes, with a freshing acidity form the basis of this quality sparkling wine of the highest calibre. The selection of grape varieties, composition of the vintage and the maturity period combine to make unparalleled products, turning Crémant de Luxembourg into a very special experience for the palate.

STATE-CERTIFIED QUALITY

Wines marketed under the protected designation of origin « Moselle Luxembourgeoise » must meet the conditions set out in the specification of « AOP – Moselle Luxembourgeoise » and withstand a chemical and sensorial analysis. Only then can they bear the designation « Moselle Luxembourgeoise ». A label with the state certificate must be affixed on the bottle.The real purpose of the « Appellation d‘Origine protégée – Moselle Luxembourgeoise » is the connection of the designation of origin and the quality claim. The closer we get to the top of our quality pyramid, the more the terroir will come into its own. The designation of origin is gaining more and more importance in the age of globalisation. It constitutes an antithesis to the technically and often excellently produced but soulless wines from all over the world.

Furthermore, consumers demand a recognisable structure of the offer. Their expectations differ, depending on whether they opt for a standard product (Côtes de), a premium product (Coteaux de) or an extraordinary product ( Lieu-dit ). They should be given the opportunity to distinguish effortlessly between a standard wine, a premium wine or an extraordinary wine.Wines with a yield of 75 hectolitres per hectare can be labelled with « Coteaux de » or «Lieu-dit ». Both are Grand premier cru -wines from the « Moselle Luxembourgeoise ». « Coteaux de » wines are blends of different vineyards from one grape variety. A « Lieu-dit » wine stems from a precisely delimited location and is consequently available only in a limited quantity. Wines with a yield of 75 and 100 hectolitres per hectare can be provided with the «Côtes de» designation.

aop

TELL ME WHERE YOU COME FROM AND I’LL TELL YOU WHO YOU ARE

…This is how the philosophy of protected designation of origin [ Appellation d‘Origine Protégée ( AOP )  in French ] can be described in a nutshell, and this applies also to  « Moselle Luxembourgeoise », which is a designation of origin. The AOP attests that a product is produced, processed and made according to an established procedure in a specified geographic region. Man, tradition, and natural conditions ( soil, climate, slope gradient and orientation ), the terroir in other words, give the product its identity.

Terroir is a concept which is not used exclusively in viticulture. It generally describes the affiliation to a region or a limited area, which is interrelated with the product. The French word terroir can be translated as « soil » or  « stemming from the soil ». From the wine-making point of view, terroir describes the overall natural setting of the vineyard with its many interrelations. Not only the soil of the initial vineyard, but rather the complex interplay between soil, topography, climate and human influence ( e.g. type and style of vinification ).

The vine is a cultivated plant, with complex climatic requirements. Temperature, precipitation, and period of sunshine play a decisive role. Owing to its geological nature and geographic location, Luxembourg’s wine-growing region is favoured by a maritime climate with a continental influence.

DIE WEINE DER «AOP – MOSELLE LUXEMBOURGEOISE»

LIEU-DIT: Terroir Weine
Die sogenannten Lagenweine entstammen den besten Weinbergen der Luxemburger Mosel. Die hochwertigen Einzellagen sind genau abgegrenzt. Hier wird die Qualität eines Weins nach dem Terroir, der Herkunft bestimmt. Der Weinberg, niedrige Erträge, selektive Handlese sowie naturnahe Bewirtschaftung sind nur einige Kriterien für die herausragende Qualität dieser Weine.

COTEAUX DE: Rebsorten typische Premiumweine
Die Coteaux-Weine sind rebsorten- und gebietstypische, klassische Weine der Luxemburger Mosel. Diese Premiumweine entstammen hochwertigen Weinbergen der Kantone Grevenmacher oder Remich. Damit repräsentieren sie zwei unterschiedliche Bodentypen: Muschelkalk ( Kanton Grevenmacher ), Keuper mit Tonmergel ( Kanton Remich ). Nur handverlesene Trauben, niedrige Erträge und eine behutsame Verarbeitung machen so die Herkunft zum Geschmackserlebnis.

CÔTES DE: Harmonische Einsteigerweine
Weine mit der Herkunftsangabe « Côtes de » sind harmonische Einsteigerweine auf hohem Niveau. Fruchtige, leichte Weine für den unkomplizierten, täglichen Genuss. Die Ertragsbegrenzung für alle Rebsorten beträgt maximal 100 Hektoliter pro Hektar; bei Elbling und Rivaner sind es 115 Hektoliter pro Hektar.

CRÉMANT DE LUXEMBOURG
Gesunde, aromatische Trauben mit einer erfrischenden Säure bilden die Grundlage dieses Qualitätsschaumweins auf höchstem Niveau. Über die Wahl der Rebsorte, die Zusammenstellung der Cuvée und die Zeit des Hefelagers entstehen einzigartige Produkte, die Crémant de Luxembourg zu einem besonderen Geschmackserlebnis machen.

QUALITÄT STAATLICH ZERTIFIZIERT

Weine, die unter der geschützten geografischen Ursprungsbezeichnung « Moselle Luxembourgeoise » vermarktet werden, müssen die Bedingungen des Lastenheftes der « AOP – Moselle Luxembourgeoise » erfüllen sowie einer chemischen und sensorischen Analyse standhalten. Nur dann dürfen sie die Bezeichnung «Moselle Luxembourgeoise» tragen. Auf den betreffenden Flaschen muss ein Etikett mit staatlichem Zertifikat angebracht sein. Ziel der « Appellation d’Origine Protégée – Moselle Luxembourgeoise  » ist die Verbindung von Herkunftsangabe und Qualitätsaussage. Je näher wir uns in der Qualitätspyramide zur Spitze hin bewegen, umso mehr soll das Terroir zur Geltung kommen. Im Zeitalter der Globalisierung wird die Herkunftsangabe immer wichtiger. Sie bildet einen Gegenpol zu den technisch oft hervorragend gemachten, aber seelenlosen Weinen aus aller Welt.

Darüber hinaus verlangt der Verbraucher erkennbar eine Strukturierung des Angebots. Seine Erwartung divergiert, je nachdem er sich für ein Standardprodukt ( Côtes de ), ein hochwertiges Produkt ( Coteaux de ) oder ein Spitzenprodukt ( Lieu-dit ) entscheidet. Man sollte ihm deshalb die Möglichkeit geben, mühelos einen Standardwein von einem Premium-Wein oder einem außergewöhnlichen Wein zu unterscheiden. Mit den Herkunftsangaben « Coteaux de » oder « Lieu-dit » dürfen Weine mit einem Ertrag von höchstens 75 Hektoliter pro Hektar etikettiert werden. Diese Weine entsprechen den « Grand premier cru – Weinen » der Luxemburger Mosel. « Coteaux de » - Weine sind Verschnitte verschiedener Parzellen einer gleichen Sorte. Ein « Lieu-dit »-Wein stammt aus einer genau abgegrenzten Lage und ist dadurch nur limitiert verfügbar. Weine mit einem Produktionsertrag zwischen 75 und 100 Hektolitern pro Hektar können mit der « Côtes de »-Bezeichnung versehen werden.

SAG MIR WOHER DU KOMMST UND ICH SAGE DIR WER DU BIST

… so oder so ähnlich kann man die Philosophie der geschützten Ursprungsbezeichnung – französisch : « Appellation d’Origine Protégée » ( AOP ) – auf den Punkt bringen. Die geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung « Moselle Luxembourgeoise » ist eine Herkunftsbezeichnung. Die AOP besagt, dass Erzeugung, Verarbeitung und Herstellung eines Produkts in einem bestimmten geografischen Gebiet nach einem anerkannten und festgelegten Verfahren erfolgen. Mensch, Tradition und natürliche Gegebenheiten ( Böden, Klima, Hangneigung und -ausrichtung ), das Terroir also, geben dem Produkt seine Identität.

Terroir ist ein Begriff, der nicht ausschließlich im Weinbau verwendet wird. Er umschreibt generell die Zugehörigkeit zu einer Region oder einem begrenzten Raum, der mit seinem Produkt in Wechselbeziehung steht. Das französische Wort Terroir lässt sich als « Boden » oder « seiner Herkunft zugehörig » übersetzen.Aus weinbaulicher Sicht beschreibt Terroir die gesamte natürliche Umgebung der Rebanlage mit ihren vielfachen Wechselwirkungen. Nicht nur der Boden des Ausgangsweinbergs ist gemeint, sondern vielmehr das komplexe Zusammenspiel zwischen Boden, Topografie, Klima und menschlichem Einfluss ( z. B. Art und Stil der Vinifikation ).

Die Rebe ist eine Kulturpflanze, die komplexe klimatische Ansprüche stellt. Die Temperatur, die Niederschlagsmenge und die Dauer der Sonnen-einstrahlung spielen eine ausschlaggebende Rolle. Aufgrund seiner geologischen Beschaffenheit und geografischen Lage ist das Luxemburger Weinbaugebiet durch ein maritimes Klima mit kontinentalem Einfluss begünstigt.